Doha: McDonalds emerge triumphant winners at M Pallonji Cricket Tourney - division II

Media Release

Doha, May 8: In the third M Pallonji Cricket Tournament - division II, McDonalds defeated Al Zaman Exchange by 131 runs.

On winning the toss, McDonalds decided to bat. McDonalds totaled a mammoth 288 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Charlees was outstanding with a strike rate of 300%, adding 66 runs off on only 22 deliveries with 8 sixes and 2 boundaries. Sudarshan score of 31 runs, Riyas score of 30 runs and Akalanka's
score of 26 runs were the other contributors.

Sandesh took two wickets while Sideek, Musthafa, Shaji and Firdouse took 1 wicket each from Al Zaman Exchange.

In reply, Al Zaman Exchange were all out for just 157 runs in the allotted 20 overs. Riyas was the top scorer with 37 runs including 4 sixes. Shajee achieved 26 runs with 1 six and 3 boundaries.

Fazhmin took 3 wickets, Riyas 2 wickets while Akalanka, Shihab, Yaseer, Manjula, Ranga and Chaminda took a wicket each from McDonalds.

McDonalds won the division II final by 131 runs

Charlees of McDonalds was declared man of the finals.

At the well attended prize distribution ceremony, the chief guest was Chidananda Nayak, regional general manager of M Pallonji, special guest was G J J Raju - vice president of Andhra Cricket Association, guests of honour were Sharad Reddy - contracts manager of M Pallonji and Zubair of Al Zaman Exchange.

Following were declared best of the tournament:

Best batsman        : Bari of McDonalds
Best Bowler           : Irshad of Al Fardan
Best All Rounder     : Sudarshan of McDonalds
Best Wicket Keeper : Faizan of Al Fardan

The prize distribution ceremony was attended by supporters and well wishers. Over 300 prizes were given away to various players in the tournament.

The prize distribution ended with complimentary refreshments and a lucky draw for the spectators.