Mangaluru: Mithun Rai elected president of Dakshina Kannada Youth Congress

Pics: Spoorthi Ullal
Daijiworld Media Network-Mangaluru (SB)


Mangaluru, May 18: Mithun Rai emerged victorious in the election for the post of Dakshina Kannada Youth Congress president, the result of which was announced here on the evening of Thursday May 18. His opponent Luqman was elected vice-president.

Mithun Rai, who was already serving in the same post, defeated Luqman by a margin of 583 votes.

While Rai garnered 4,059 votes, Luqman secured 3,476 votes.

Kiran Gundlekuttu, Prasad Malli, Mohammed Shoaib, Naveed and Abdul Samad were elected general secretaries. Shishipal Raj and Varun Raj were also elected as office-bearers.

The counting of the votes for the youth Congress constituency-wise elections was held for the posts of presidents on Thursday, May 18.

Results of all 8 Assembly constituencies have been declared.

Tausif in Puttur, Sadiq in Sullia, Abhinandan in Beltangady, Chandra Sanil in Moodbidri, Girish Alva in Mangaluru North, Prashanth Kumar in Bantwal, Merryl Rego in Mangaluru South and Rauf Deralakatte in Ullal have emerged as winners.

Mithun Rai

Merryl Rego 

It may be recalled that there are two factions presently fighting to gain control over the youth Congress in the district. Fearing danger after one assault incident at the Congress office, heavy police security was provided during the counting. Polling was held on May 16.

Out of 8 Assembly constituencies 7 have been reportedly won by Mithun supporters while Ullal was won by the Lukman supporter. 

Counting has begun for the posts of district president and general secretary. Mithun Rai and Lukman Bantwal are the president candidates.