Mangaluru: Victor Rodrigues memorial award presented to Ron Roche

Daijiworld Media Network – Mangaluru (EP)

Mangaluru, Jul 14: The seventh death anniversary and sixth year's memorial Konkani award ceremony, in memory of well-known Konkani author, the late Victor Rodrigues, was held at Infant Jesus shrine auditorium, Bikarnakatta on July 9.

Episcopal Vicar of Mangaluru diocese Fr Dr Pius James D'Souza felicitated popular Konkani novelist and author, Ron Roche Cascia and presented the late Victor Rodrigues memorial literary award to him. He recollected the days he had spent with Victor Rodrigues on the occasion.

Gracy Maria, Ron Roche's wife, expressed the feelings of Ron Roche who was presented Rs 10,000, memento and certificate and thanked Samanvaya and late Victor Rodrigues's wife Celine Rodrigues. 

Fr Dr Wilfred Rodrigues, superior of St Joseph's Monastery spoke on the service of late Victor Rodrigues when 'Naman Ballok Jezu' monthly magazine was published in its initial stage.

Konkani author Navin Kulshekar called on people to develop the habit of buying and reading Konkani newspapers so that the language grows.

Speaking on the occasion, Fr Dr Ronald Cutinho, director, Samanvaya said, "Samanvaya started 18 years ago, teaches more than 1200 people to improve resources and provides training, distributes scholarships and presents Konkani literary awards. As many as 800 students have been given Rs 1.5 crore worth scholarships. Training in tailoring to 577 women, embroidery training to 90 people have been given. It has published 27 books and has reached high standards in social service."

A film depicting the life of late Victor Rodrigues was also shown in the programme.

Earlier, Winnifred Pinto sang a prayer song to invoke God's blessings at the beginning of the programme. Fr Dr Ronald Cutinho welcomed the gathering. Dolphy Lobo compered the programme. Celine Rodrigues proposed the vote of thanks.

Konkani writers Manu Bahrain, Edie Netto, Herolpius, manager of Samanvaya Fr Dr Pius Fidelis Pinto, J F D'Souza, Macha Milar, Edwin J F D'Souza, CGS Taccode, Meena and Vishwas Rebimbus and others were present.