Jeddah: Mohammed Saifuddin Sami elected president of Karnataka NRI Forum

Media Release

Jeddah, Jul 17: The 10th annual general body meeting of the Karnataka Non Resident Indian Forum (KNRI), Jeddah was held at The Village Restaurant Azizia, Arbaeen Street here recently. Mohammed Saifuddin Sami was elected as new president for the year 2017-2018.

General secretary Yashwant Amin presented the annual report. A power point presentation was made to highlight the achievements for the year 2016-17. A detailed information in each category, like education, medical, labor, food crisis, toilets projects back home, other causes etc were presented. He also highlighted and applauded the major contributions made by individuals, committee members and personal contribution. He informed the gathering about the forum’s new project started last year which was toilets project in different places back home in Karnataka. Amin stated that huge appreciation was received from the local public and also that financial assistance has been lent to the project.

In the absence of the treasurer, Amin also presented the financial report and highlighted the receipts and payments, income and expenditures details for the year 2016-17. He also informed that the renewal of the certificate as per the State Government of Karnataka Society Act was done.

Two members of the committee, Mohammed Ilyas Momin and Dr Ashfaque Maniyar conducted the election to elect the new executive committee.

The newly nominated team is Mohammed Saifuddin Sami, president; Syed Nasir Khursheed, vice-president (membership); Dadapeer Hayath, vice-president, (admin); Yashwanth Amin, general secretary; Aijaz Ahmed, treasurer; Sayed Kowsain Pasha, joint treasurer; Shaikh Saoud, joint secretary; Altaf AlMelker, meeting coordinator; Sabu Chandran, sports secretary; Rajesh Kumar, joint sports secretary; Mohammed Kaleem, cultural secretary; Mehboob Ali, joint cultural secretary; Mohammed Salem Khaleefa, press secretary; Dr Firoz Mulla, Faizee Razak Sheikh, Jalal Baig as membership coordinator; Suresh Babu, IT coordinator , and Tanveer Ahmed, assistant, IT coordinator.

Roshan Rodrigues, Mukarram Khan, Mohammed Saheb, Habeeb Rahaman, Krish Jangal, Mohammed Mansoor, Mohammed Ilyas Momin, Dr Ashfaque Maniyar, Mohammed Arifulla, M R Shareef, Mohammed Asif Momin, Nazir Ahmed, Peter Mascarenhas and Manzour Ahmed are the executive committee members.

Mohammed Saifuddin expressed his happiness and gratitude. In his first speech as a president, he thanked all the members for showing confidence in him and he will do his best to take the KNRI Forum, Jeddah to higher level and assured to maintain the dignity of the forum. He recalled and said that outgoing president Roshan Rodrigues had done a commendable job during his tenure and requested his full support and cooperation along with all other members.

General Secretary Yashwanth Amin informed the forum that he will do his best to support the team in his second term as secretary.

Syed Nasir Khursheed thanked members for trusting him and selecting as VP membership. He assured that membership drive will be done with the help of all members.

Dadapeer Hayat also thanked members for unanimously selecting as a VP admin and said that it is an honor for him to serve with more responsibilities.

Newly joined executive committee members Mohammed Arifulla, M R Shareef, Mohammed Asif Momin, Nazir Ahmed, Tanveer Ahmed and Jalal Baig expressed their happiness being part of KNRI family, and said that they feel overwhelmed due to the warm welcome from senior members.

Earlier, Syed Nasir Khursheed welcomed all the committee members, life members, sponsors and guests to the meeting. He further highlighted KNRI activities and the achievements of outgoing president Roshan Rodrigues along with committee members. Roshan Rodrigues briefed the activities of KNRI and its recognition because of the team work of EC members as one family. He thanked all the members for lending support.

Dr Firoz Mulla compered the programme.

Sabu Chandran delivered the vote of thanks in which he expressed deep sense of appreciation towards all the members for attending the event and making it successful. He thanked everyone separately, and also those who helped the forum directly or indirectly.

The programme concluded with entertainment, delicious dinner served by The Village Restaurant and group pictures followed by national anthem.