Dammam: MASA holds volleyball, throwball tourney, drawing competition

Media Release

Dammam, May 10: MASA, a well-known charity organization, held a special event; volleyball, throwball tournament and drawing competition on May 4 for their members and guests at a farm house in Dammam 91 area.

As usual in MASA events, fun and frolic engulfed the atmosphere with children and adults enjoying the day in the lovely evening weather much to the joy of all. The serene turf in farm house added the glow that brought old and young on their toes to enjoy the sprawling greenery kicking and hustling the yester years.

President Sadashiv Poojary kicked of the event at 5 pm welcoming members and guests in the presence of the excom and advisory members. General secretary Mohammed Nooman addressed the gathering and briefed on the event. Vice-president Naveen Bhandary, advisory member Narendra Shetty and sports committee head Praveen Peter Aranha also welcomed the members and guests during his speech. Sports committee head reminded everyone of the gentle message from vibrant founder member Ravi Karkera ‘Be serious, do not be too serious’. MASA members remembered late Vinaya Bhandary who was a sports loving person and was actively involved in all events of MASA on the occasion.

MASA president and excom along with Joey Fernandes, a noted businessman and an ardent fan of sports inaugurated the tournament by cutting the string of the hanging ball to kick start the games.

In the volleyball tournament, six teams divided into two groups played against each other and the winners then moved into the semifinals. The semifinal was played between two teams the third team made a direct entry into the final with the flip of coin. Volleyball teams were led by Jitesh Kottara, Nayaz Kaiser, Nizamuddin Abdulsamad, Sandeep Shetty, Suresh M Jayanth and Roopesh Suvarna.

In throwball tournament for ladies, four teams of were led by Archana Shetty, Naseema Salim Puttur, Shameema Nooman and Sumitra P Kadekar.

Both the tournaments witnessed exciting finishes that was highlight of the evening and the crowd enjoyed every moment to the fullest.

Drawing competition for children of different age groups (0 to 6, 6 to 10, 10 to 14 & 14 to 18) was mesmerizing to see the children display their drawing and painting skills. Some wonderful art of children was amazing and spell bounding and a real treat to watch. The judges had a tough time declaring the winners.

There was also musical chair game which was lively and thoroughly enjoyed by children and parents.


Volleyball Winners:

First Place: Jitesh Kottara & Team
Second Place: Sandeep Shetty & Team

Throwball Winners:

First Place: Archana Shetty & Team
Second Place: Sumithra Pradeep Kadekar & Team

Kids Chair Game:

First Place: Sarosh Salim
Second Place: Namira Nizamuddin
Third Place: Sahl Shamsuddin

Drawing Competition:

Age Group 0-6

First Place: Sahl Shamsuddin
Second Place: Rakshit Lokesh
Third Place: Danish Hussain

Age Group 6-10

First Place: Zeba Hussain
Second Place: Abdullah Nooman Basheer
Third Place: Shamitha Shetty

Age Group 10-14

First Place: Bhavya P. Kumar
Second Place: Shreya Bangera
Third Place: Asim Mohsin

Age Group 14-18

First Place: Jayden Aranha
Second Place: Gissele Aranha
Third Place: Smrithi Poojary

Judges for the drawing competition were: Joey Fernandes, Joann Fernandes, Jolly Kollamparambil, Juveria Khan and Farheen Razzak.

Referees and umpires for the volleyball and throwball tournaments were Sunil Puthran, Narendra Shetty, Gopal Shetty, Amith Shetty and Praveen P Aranha.

Traditional delicious snacks and dinner were served to one and all during the programme.

Medals were given to the winners and runners-up of volleyball and throwball games, while gifts were given to the winners of children musical chair game. Winners will be awarded with trophies during the MASA annual day programme on December 21, 2018.

MASA executive committee and members extended their gratitude to all the sponsors for their generosity in making this event a grand success. Sponsors for this event were: Joey Fernandes – Artland Transport Co, Sadashiv Poojary – Intermodal Services of SA, Ameer Hussain, Praveen P Aranha, Madhav Amin, Ravi Karkera, Naveen Bhandary, Narendra Shetty & Group, Sunil Puthran, Satish Bajal, Ganesh Karkera, Edwin Martis, Chandrashekar Karkera, Farooq Qayyum, Satish Poojary, Sudarshan Sanil and well-wishers.

MASA general secretary thanked everyone who was responsible for the success of the event including the participants, sponsors, organizers, volunteers, sports committee, food committee and executive committee in his vote of thanks. Jagjeevan Karkera was specially thanked for his service in first aid for he has been continuously supporting MASA with such service for many events.

The splendid evening ended at 11.00 pm with Indian national anthem.