BJP wave sweeps Udupi district, party wins all five seats

Pics: Umesh Marpalli
Daijiworld Media Network - Udupi

Udupi, May 15: The Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) has swept the assembly elections winning all five seats in Udupi district results of which were declared on May 15.

In Udupi, BJP's Raghupati Bhat defeated his rival from the Congress Pramod Madhwaraj by a margin of over 12,000 votes.

In Kaup, BJP's Lalaji R Mendon has defeated Vinay Kumar Sorake from the Congress by a similar margin. BJC's Anupama Shenoy failed to make any impact.

In Kundapur, Congress candidate Rakesh Malli lost to BJP's Halady Shrinivas Shetty by a massive margin of 56,405 votes.

BJP candidate Sunil Kumar won in Karkala, defeating Congress candidate Gopal Bhandary by a margin of 42,566 votes.

Speaking to daijiworld, Sunil Kumar said that development in Karkala and people's support helped him achieve such a big victory. He promised to make Karkala the number one constituency in the state in the next five years.

In Byndoor, BJP's Sukumar Shetty won against Congress candidate Gopal Poojary by a margin of 24,500 votes.