Bengaluru: B S Yeddyurappa sworn-in as Chief Minister of Karnataka

Daijiworld Media Network - Bangaluru (RJP)

Bengaluru, May 17: BJP legislative party leader B S Yeddyurappa was sworn-in as chief minister of Karnataka on Thursday, May 17. 

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath at 'Glass House' of Raj Bhavan. 

Yeddyurappa, 75, took the oath in Kannada in the presence central and state leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party and newly-elected legislators and senior officials. 

BJP has the support of only 104 MLAs, which is away from the necessary numbers to form the government.

Yeddyurappa  has been given 15 days time to prove majority.

Earlier in the day, a three-judge bench of the Supreme Court declined to stay the swearing-in of Yeddyurappa as the Chief Minister.