Anand Bailoor elected president of Karnataka Sangha Sharjah

Report: Shodhan Prasad

Sharjah, Jun 27: Anand Bailoor was elected as the president of Karnataka Sangha Sharjah for the year 2018-19 recently. Karnataka Sangha Sharjah, one of the oldest associations for Kannadigas in the UAE have been serving for the past 15 years promoting Kannada in this part of the world in their various activities.

The committee met recently to elect the new office bearers. Anand was unanimously chosen as the new president. One more senior member, M E Moolur was elected as the vice-president while active worker Noel D Almeida was elected as the general secretary.

Vishwanath Shetty was elected as joint secretary, Sashikanth Kanangi as treasurer, Rajesh Kuthar as entertainment secretary, Jeevan Kuckian as sports secretary and Sandeep Rao was elected as joint secretary sports.

All the office bearers accepted their responsibilities and took oath administered by patron Mark Denis D’Souza. Advisory committee comprising of Praveen Kumar Shetty, Harish Sherigar, B K Ganesh Rai, Prabhakar Ambalthere, Satish Poojary, former president Sugandh Raj Bekal and Ananth Raman witnessed the oath taking.

The meeting started with condolence prayer to late Basanth Bekal, one of the active members of Karnataka Sangha Sharjah, who left for heavenly abode recently.

The committee meeting concluded with vote of thanks.