Kuwait: Capxem Boys crowned champions in Goa FC All-India football tourney

Media Release

Kuwait, Jun 27: A star studded Capxem Boys were crowned champions of the first edition All India 7-a-side football tournament organized by Goa Football Club at Bayan grounds on June 22.Capxem Boys beat Ave Maria 3-2 in the tie-breaker. As many as 24 exciting teams took part in the day-long tournament.

In the semi-finals, Capxem Boys had the better of Silver Stars while Ave Maria overcame favourites Indian Strikers.

Champions Capxem Boys comprised of Casiano D’Souza (President), Melwin Fernandes (Team Manager), Jimmy Pereira (coach), Kistod Pixeito, Melwin Fernandes, Myron Fernandes, Joel Fernandes, Ajay Lobo, Marcus D'Costa, Reagan Fernandes, Edwin Fernandes, Josse Fernandes, Christo Colaco, Melvin Fernandes and Jimmy Pereira.

Runners-up Ave Maria squad consisted of Bruno Trinidade (Team Manager), Savio Richard (coach), Alido Gomes (goalkeeper), Stevan Rodrigues, Glavin D'Souza, Ronny Fernandes, Jayden Fernandes, Peter Fernandes, Vicky Waghmare, Leo Rodrigues, Vishal Kotak and Gilberto Dias.

The matches were refereed by IFRA referees who included Julio Cardozo, Sarto Baptista, Francis Fernandes, Tiago Fernandes, Jose, Steven Rodrigues, Alvaro Dias, Zeon Fernandes and Philip Ferrao.

Founder member of Kuwait Indian Football Federation (KIFF) V K Vohra was chief guest at the event and later spoke during the prize distribution ceremony. Fidelis Fernandes was guest of honor. He shared his views during the presentation. Other dignitaries present on the occasion included KIFF President Derrick Gomindes, Xavier Furtado, Felix de Merces, Robert Bernard and Mrs Georgina Pereira.

Vohra while congratulating the winners, praised Goa FC for organizing a grand tournament.

The event was made all the more spectacular with expert commentary and compering by Gasper Crasto. Sunny D’Souza spiced up the evening with musical fillers and super sound and he also covered the tournament with his lens.

Vice-president of Goa FC Michael Pereira rendered the vote of thanks. He thanked all the participating teams, IFRA officials, sponsors and everyone who rendered their help in making the tournament a huge success.

Prizes were presented at the hands of V K Vohra, Fidelis Fernandes, Xavier Furtado, Gabriel Felix, Marcelino Pereira, Georgina Pereira among others.

The tournament was sponsored by Boushari Group, Abul Salaam Shahul Hameed, Denzil D’Souza, Casiano D’Souza, Gabriel Felix, Rafael Rodrigues, Goa Football Club, Well-wishers among others.

Apart from the glittering trophies, the winners and runners-up were awarded cash prizes and individual medallions.

Following prizes were awarded at the presentation ceremony:

Fair Play Trophy – Silver Stars

Best Goalkeeper – Kistod Peixote (Capxem Boys)

Best Player of the Tournament – Vishal Kotak (Ave Maria)

Top Scorer of the Tournament – Jayden Fernandes (Ave Maria)

Man of the Match (Final) –Joel Fernandes (Capxem Boys)

GFC Committee memberswho left no stone unturned to ensure everything went smooth comprised of Peter Pereira (President), Milagres Pereira (Vice President), Marcelino Pereira - Sports Secretary, Phillip Ferrao – Coach, Salman Mhaslai, Paul Pereira, Custodio Fernandes among others.