Mangaluru: ICYM Kulur unit celebrates National Youth Sunday, Environment Day, holds Yuva Sambhram

Media Release

Mangaluru, Aug 10: Indian Catholic Youth Movement Kulur Unit celebrated National Youth Sunday August 5 after the 7:00 am mass at St Antony Church, Kulur. The Conference of Catholic Bishops of India (CCBI) observed and celebrated National Youth Sunday with the theme Youth, Faith and Vocational Discernment on August 5 across India.

To mark this auspicious occasion, ICYM members of Kulur Unit celebrated National Youth Sunday by taking part in the Holy Eucharistic Celebration as well by conducting Sunday Liturgy. Fr Vincent D’Souza celebrated the Holy Eucharistic celebration and specially prayed for all the youth. ICYM members offered special offerings in large number. The liturgy was conducted very systematically and in a sacred way by the members of the unit. On this special, occasion ICYM Kulur Unit celebrated Environment day to make this day a valuable one. ICYM members joined their hands along with the Parish Priest in planting a sapling and nuturing it. Meanwhile Shramadan programme was also organized by cleaning the surrounding area of the church and planting saplings which made this day a fruitful one.

ICYM Kulur Unit organised Yuva Sambhram 2018 (Youth Day) open to all games for the parish youths on the same day at St Antony Church grounds, Kulur. Danish, unit vice president welcomed the gathering. Fr Vincent D’Souza, parish priest, St Antony Church Kulur presided and inaugurated the programme by exchanging friendship bands along with Viyolla D’Silva, Jeppu president, Sonali Rodrigues Bejai vice-president, Vishma D’Cunha Cascia, secretary ICYM Episcopal City deanery, Clever D’Souza, unit animator, David Monteiro unit president and Christon D’Souza unit sports secretary who were on the dais. Fr Vincent D’Souza addressed the gathering meanwhile the members celebrated friendship day. Games event began by exchange of friendship bands among all the youth. All together 14 wards and more than 100 youth participated in this event. Cocess ward bagged the champions’ trophy. Leston Veigas and Joy D’Souza compered the programme.