Bengaluru: Election to three seats in upper house on October 3

Daijiworld Media Network - Bengaluru (SP)

Bengaluru, Sep 12: The election commission has published time table for the bypoll being held for three vacant seats in the legislative council, which will be filled from the legislative assembly constituency. As per the schedule, the election will be held on October 3.

This election is necessitated to fill in the vacancies created by the resignations of deputy chief minister, Dr G Parameshwar, who got elected as MLA from Koratagere, K S Eshwarappa, who represents Shivamogga assembly constituency now, and V Somanna, who was elected from Govindarajanagar constituency, to the council memberships they earlier had.

The memberships of Parameshwar and Eshwarappa were valid till June 30, 2020 while that of Somanna was up to June 14, 2022. The  persons now elected will have members of the council till these respective dates.

There is a confusion as the election has now been announced together for three seats out of of which the term of one member is longer and there is difficulty of deciding whose term will end in 2022.  There is hope that the commission will clarify this point in the notification being issued.

As per the time table, notification will be issued on September 14, and September 22 will be the last date for filing of nominations. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be undertaken on September 24, while September 26 will be the last date for withdrawal. Election will be held on October 3 and result would be announced he same day.