Mumbai: Ryan Minithon sees maximum enthusiastic participation

Rons Bantwal

Daijiworld Media Network - Mumbai

Mumbai, Dec 10: Ryan Minithon 2018, one of the largest minithon road race series for the school students in the country and the 161st race held on December 9 at Navi Mumbai witnessed the enthusiastic participation of 12,173 students of 16 different schools of Mumbai. The race was flagged off from Ryan International School, Nerul by respected CEO of Ryan Group of Institutions Ryan Pinto, Ravindra Ithape (corporator), Surekha Ithape (ex corporator), Sunil Lokhande (deputy commissioner of traffic), Revappa Gurav (DSO officer, NMMC), Sharad Doke (Mantralaya), Harsharan Singh (general secretary Nerul Ghymkhana), Shekhar Lad (inspector central excise), Pastor Ashish Srivastava (Jeevan Jyot A G Church), Dinesh Jadhav (DY commandant Indian Coast Guard), Mohan Suresh Dass (head coach Mumbai City).

Following the well established tradition of the Ryan Group of Schools, the galaxy of guests hailing from different walks of life planted saplings after the mega Ryan Minithon 2018 kicked off.

Sporty students from U-12 to U-18 clad in PT uniform ran the race along the marathon route lined with a continuous human chain of teachers of all the participating schools. Ryan International Group of Institutions, India, has been organizing such races in Bengaluru, Delhi, Chandigarh, Nagpur, Surat, Jalna, Jaipur and Navi Mumbai since 1998 to develop a sports culture in the country conducive for grooming young students for national and international sporting events. An average of 70,000 students and above 350 institutions participate every year. The chairman Dr A F Pinto believes that this minithon is a tribute to all the athletes throughout India and such minithons promote an interest in sports in the minds of youth and help them remain physically fit.

The winners of different age groups were awarded in a scintillating ceremony with a number of distinguished guests in attendance. The prize distribution ceremony got off with a prayer followed by welcome speeches, melodious songs and captivating dance performances. St Joseph’s High School CBSE Panvel with 49 points, received the Championship Trophy. St Joseph High School (SSC Panvel) securing the second position with 42 points and St Xavier High School Goregaon securing the third position with 29 points.

Six prizes in each category were awarded to students. The overall points of each race decided the championship trophy. The second session of the event was an entertaining programme organized by various participating schools for the invited dignitaries.