Bengaluru: Yediyurappa appeases BJP rebels by making them board heads

Daijiworld Media Network - Bengaluru 

Bengaluru, Oct 9: Karnataka chief minister (CM) B S Yeddyurappa has appointed eight BJP leaders as heads of various boards and corporations. The ones who have been appointed were the aspiring candidates from BJP who were hoping to contest the by-polls scheduled on December 5. 

This move by the CM aims to suppress the rebellion building up within the BJP. Not many are happy that the CM wants to field the disqualified Congress and JD(S) MLAs on BJP tickets. 

The eight leaders will hold the position of minister of state rank. Sharath Bacchegowda who had protested outside Yediyurappa’s residence regarding MTB Nagaraj’s candidature has been appointed as the chairman of Karnataka Housing Board.


Nandidesh Reddy who was eyeing the KR Puram constituency seat is made the BMTC vice chairman. With this, the CM hopes fielding Byrathi Basavaraju from K R Puram will have no hurdles. 

U B Banakar has been appointed as the chairman of Karnataka State Agricultural Produce Processing and Export Corporation Limited. Banakar was against the idea of giving Congress rebel B C Patil the BJP ticket. 

Ashok Poojary is made the chairman of Karnataka Border Area Development Authority. This move aims to clear way for Ramesh Jarkiholi whose rebellion in the JD(S)-Congress coalition led to BJP’s gain. 

Raju Kaage from Kagwad constituency in Belgaum who lost to Shrimanth Patil from Congress ihas been appointed to head Command Area Development Programme (CADA), Malaprabha and Ghataprabha projects. 

Basangouda Turvihal from Maski, Raichur will head CADA, Tungabhadra Project. Turvihal had lost to Congress rebel Pratap Gowda Patil. 

V S Patil from Yallapur who lost to Congress rebel Arabail Shivaram Hebbar has been appointed as chairman of North West Road Transport Corporation. H R Gaviappa from Vijaynagar is the chairman of Karnataka State Small Industries Development Corporation Ltd. He had lost Congress rebel Anand Singh.